Phrase Ramble #2: Let’s blow this Popsicle stand!

Example in use:
“We have 20 minutes before the super huge Hollywood explosion goes off!  Let’s blow this Popsicle stand!”

What the hell?
In this context it clearly means “John, let’s get the flying #%!@ out of here,” because
1.  There’s always a John
and
2.  You so much as poke a gasoline canister in a film and that baby is going off like a civil war reenactment

What I want to know is why a Popsicle stand?  Was that a thing?  Is there a place that exclusively sells Popsicles to you and your loved ones and so help you god if you ask for frozen yogurt? Why haven’t I ever heard of such a wonderland?  What else have you kept from me mom and dad?!  I demand answers!
Also, what’s up with “blow?”  Since when did we decide that it means “to leave?”  You can’t leave!  We got too much stuff to do!  We got to blow out the candles on the cake, blow shit up, get blowjobs at the bathroom, yell at John for blowing our cover, come to blows for insulting his mother, and tell the cops to go blow themselves for confiscating our blow!
It’s like the Aaron Paul of words:  a scrappy young hoodlum with a foul mouth and heart of gold.

Theory:
So with an itty bitty bit of research (I know and I apologize.  This will be the last time I put effort into this, I swear.) this phrase was originally “let’s blow this pop stand.”  Now I know pop stands were a thing.  I’ve seen “Back to the Future.”  It’s a place that sells cherry coke and nothing else.  My guess is the phrase changed to “Popsicle” because “let’s blow this cherry cola stand” has too much product placement you know?  We’re not corporate whores.  We’re just trying to escape a Michael Bay movie.

2 thoughts on “Phrase Ramble #2: Let’s blow this Popsicle stand!

Leave a comment